Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Advice for a novice collector

Article about: by ZigZag But regardless, the reply's I got from my post lead me to believe he is the exception and you can find people who will help. Thanks There you go!

?

Default Advice for a novice collector

Hello,

I need some advice. I am new to Third Reich Militaria collecting. I am very well versed in the History of WW2 and in particular the Third Reich, Its personalities, politics, leaders and the Implementation of the Final Solution. Because of this I decided to collect some items and maybe sell some in order to fund a personal collection.

The Issue I have come across is finding a reputable guide and/or book which will show me examples of “real” pieces and will also show me the things to look for when determing its authenticity. Something like a guide which will show detailed pics of a real cuff title compared to a repro or fake.

I went to A.D. Roysters site which deals specifically with Fake Third Reich items and was hoping to find some information however, the author of the site is so conceited,arrogant and condescending in his views of collecting and fellow collectors I dont know why he even bothers. He is supposedly an authoritative expert in the field but according to him every single book, website, guide and fellow collector is a thief and sells fake stuff. He calls every other collector, dealer and author “gay” and attacks and bullies them personally like a spoiled 14 year old. Its just weird. I dont understand how someone who claims to be a collector and into the hobby is such an asshole to fellow collectors and new collectors getting into the hobby.