Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

how hard is it to spot fake items

Article about: i'm new to all this i was looking on Philipp Militaria - Ankauf und Verkauf militärischer Antiquitäten and seen the section on reproductions and was thinking they look really good copies so

Default how hard is it to spot fake items

i'm new to all this
    i was looking on Philipp Militaria - Ankauf und Verkauf militärischer Antiquitäten and seen the section on reproductions and was thinking they look really good copies
    so then i was thinking, do some dealers mix in fakes with there real items for sale?
    how easy is it for a you guys (experts) to spot fakes?
    thanks

?

Default Re: how hard is it to spot fake items

I don't think anyone here would call themselves an expert, it's only easy when you know what to look for and even then, sometimes, it's not so easy. Some fakes are much easier to spot than others, some are made to decieve and you really need to look closely.
    If you're starting out in the hobby, don't get hung up on fakes and looking for fakes because you won't then know what an original looks like and everything will start looking like a fake.
    Sit down, think about what you want to collect and once you've decided what you want to buy or the area in which you want to focus, start researching original items.
    There is absolutely no benefit from studying fakes and ignoring the original items.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

yeah i am int rested in German WWII awards (my favorite is the iron cross) and SS items
    i have order this book to help me http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0...ls_o02_s00_i00
    are there any good SS books out there you can recommend?
    i was all so thinking of buying this cross M & T Militaria - German Militaria, Nazi Militaria, Medals, Third Reich its £85
    dose it look good and is it at a good price
    ive asked for better pics to have a better look