Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Sir Douglas Bader's tactics criticised by veterans.

Article about: Sorry Nick, you mentioned you dont regard him as a Battle of Britain Hero, then what do you regard him as? I know he was regarded as an arrogant foolish fellow, but in my eyes, to do what he

Default Re: Sir Douglas Bader's tactics criticised by veterans.

Sorry Nick, you mentioned you dont regard him as a Battle of Britain Hero, then what do you regard him as? I know he was regarded as an arrogant foolish fellow, but in my eyes, to do what he did, to overcome his obvious drawbacks, makes him a national british hero

He never fought in the Battle of Britain. Yes he lost his legs in a training flight that made him a national hero.

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Thats harsh Nick

I never refered to him as a Battle of Britain Hero. He was a brave man, full of " spunk " as i believe they said in those days, ...lol

Surely there are other Bader opinions out there //

?

Anyone who can lose both legs in a flying accident yet still climb into a Spitfire, still shoot down enemy planes, survive being shot down and escape from prisoner of war camps on several occasions is a hero in my eyes despite the controversy over his tactics.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

I think the heros of the Battle of Britain were the 17/18 year olds who had only 10 hours flying training and were the first to confront the Luftwaffe..

I understand Baders 'Big Wing' was a back up. This is only my opinion and I dont want to offend any Bader fans

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

It amazes me that young guys like that went up against seasoned dog fighters. Pretty cool