WW2 Era Letter Written by U.S. Serviceman in Ireland. He writes about the weather, countryside, furlough to England, Jerries bombing London, visiting Giant’s Causeway and more.
This letter was written by an Emmett Gerdts. He was born on May 11th 1904. During the war, he served with the 256 Ordnance Medium Maintenance Company. The letter reads:

“ Northern Ireland
April 16, 1944

Dear Gordon,

I received your most welcome letter and will try to answer it before waiting any longer. It is quite a job to keep up with my correspondence any more but I try to anyway. This is Sunday and I wrote 7 letters this A.M. and this is my second one since dinner so you see what a task it is. I’m not very good at this sort of thing anyway but I like to get letters and the best way to be sure of getting them is to answer as soon as possible. I have been very busy since I returned from my furlough in England.

The weather here is very nice now. It rains often but the sun comes out after each shower and is very warm. They say it never gets hot here even in summer and seldom freezes in winter. The rains are never very hard ones, more like a sprinkle but they are very frequent. The country is fast becoming more pretty to look at. The trees and bushes are all getting green and the pastures which are green all year round take on a fresher and prettier green from now on. Two weeks ago we made a trip in trucks up to the “Giant’s Causeway” which is a particular formation of rocks along the Atlantic coast at the very northern end of Ireland. We left on Saturday and returned on Sunday. It was a swell trip and we all had a fine time.