Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hand cranked Air Raid Siren

Article about: In our stores at RAF Metheringham we have this air raid siren that was donated to us years ago. I’m not 100% sure if it’s wartime or post war. I believe wartime examples have a tubular t

Default Hand cranked Air Raid Siren

In our stores at RAF Metheringham we have this air raid siren that was donated to us years ago.
    I’m not 100% sure if it’s wartime or post war.
    I believe wartime examples have a tubular tripod however this one is not a tripod shape.
    Any help would be much appreciated
    Thanks

NickHand cranked Air Raid SirenHand cranked Air Raid SirenHand cranked Air Raid Siren
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Wish I could help! I'd nearly kill to crank it up! thanks for showing.

I'm not 100% certain but I believe this is a Cold War (1950s) period item.

Is it branded 'Secomak' (Service Electric Co, I think)?

Also there may be a date stamp possibly on a Mod plate somewhere although I imagine you have looked?

Regards

Mark

PS Albeit of '50s origin they did remain on issue right up to the '90s before final withdrawal from unit stores.
    Last edited by Watchdog; 02-15-2022 at 10:11 AM. Reason: ps
    "War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. A man who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing he cares more about than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature with no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself."

I have always thought this style were post war too.
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

Awesome things these.

Getting one had been on my 'want' list since I was a child and a few years back I finally found a nice one.