Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Please help Identify my disk

Article about: Hi guys, I'm really new to this so please be nice I picked up this dog tag when I was in Oslo 5 or 6 years ago. I was told it came from the wreck of the Blücher. I'm pretty sure its a fake f

Default Please help Identify my disk

Hi guys,
    I'm really new to this so please be nice
    I picked up this dog tag when I was in Oslo 5 or 6 years ago. I was told it came from the wreck of the Blücher.
    I'm pretty sure its a fake from the research I've done since, but would like a second opinion...
    Please help Identify my disk

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Please help Identify my disk
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Please help Identify my disk

I am no expert but the corrosion looks fake. Wait for more opinions.

Regards, Lars

?

Welcome to the forum It looks like a normal KM disc to me and the corrosion doesn't look fishy at all- I've had a bunch of buried KM discs all with similar oxidation and holing. I believe the marking should be 'MS' to indicate 'seemännischen Dienst' (seaman service) if he was a shipboard sailor though; 'MK' apparently refers to him being in Laufbahnen (occupations) XIV, XV, or XVII, which were Marinearillerielaufbahn, Kraftfahr-Laufbahn, Waffenwart-Laufbahn (mit Untergruppen)- all shore occupations. The real issue for the story is his roll number- 31133 is quite high and I have images of discs issued in 1940 numbered just 1456 and 4835. Clearly a fair number of men were inducted into the Kriegsmarine that year, however it seems unlikely they could have reached 31000+; not to mention at the time they were still including the year so both those discs are marked '40'. Yours having such a high number and no year and a shore occupation code suggests pretty strongly this man wasn't on the Blücher. So while the disc is real, the source is dubious.
    Ohhhhh- pillage then burn...

?

Nice to know i was wrong. Never seen these before.

Regards, Lars