Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Sword Identification

Article about: Hi, i would like some help identifying what type of sword this is. It seems as if the hilt is badly oxidized and has therefore turned black, i have limited knowledge so i could be wrong. Doe

Default Sword Identification

Hi, i would like some help identifying what type of sword this is. It seems as if the hilt is badly oxidized and has therefore turned black, i have limited knowledge so i could be wrong. Does anyone recognize any similar swords or know exactly what this is?

Sword IdentificationSword IdentificationSword IdentificationSword Identification

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Sword Identification
    P
    Many

Your photos are not so good and they can't be enlarged and it's the detail that helps identification. However you have an Imperial era, most likely Prussian Lion head sword, probably pre-WW1. It could be military, or it may be "Verein", or association related. There is what looks like crossed swords on the langet, but also two holes where an insignia was later attached. The hilt is typical for cavalry or artillery officers, but usually seen with a slightly curved blade. This straight blade is more infantry officer, but as private purchase it could have been modified for a different buyer, hence the langet attachment now lost. The etching (if visible) might give some more clues.
    It appears as you say to have suffered from some oxidation. Do you have a scabbard for it, or did it rust away?
    Have a look under the langets, may be a maker mark.

Default Imperial Sword Identification