Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

SS Erk ?

Article about: Hi Gents, I was hoping for a little help on this one. Just a simple good or bad ? Thanks in advance All the best Dave

Default SS Erk ?

Hi Gents,
    I was hoping for a little help on this one.
    Just a simple good or bad ?

SS Erk ?SS Erk ?

Thanks in advance

All the best
    Dave

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Erk ?
    P
    Many

I like the mottled camo effect on this!

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

SS Pea dot Nick
    The fonts look OK I think but not 100% confident by any means as these are a grey area for myself.
    Cheers mate
    Dave

?

Simple good or bad is hard to come by. This looks OK to me The unit existed part of the 5th ss panzer division "Wiking" I have never seen any other examples of that sub unit of Wiking so I cannot tell you that it is 100% original.

Thank you Eike41.
    Appreciate your opinion.
    Cheers mate
    Dave

Quite a high stammrollen number, I wonder if that may tell a story. I could expect an ersatz unit to rotate a high number of men through the unit but was is an 'Inst' abteilung anyway?

?

Sorry Dave, but unfortunately that's a fake- I was shown two other discs from very different units a few months ago that have the exact same really weird font- and if there's one truth about Erkennungsmarken, it's that no two different units have the exact same font; but fakes regularly do. Here's one of the identical font bad discs, with three small insets cropped from the other disc- supposedly SS-Artillerie-Regiment 3:

SS Erk ?

It's probably the weirdest font I've ever seen- it looks like the letters were made with a rotary pantograph- the ends are round, and the lines are 'v' shaped; but here it's clear stamps were used, so they're definitely industrially-made and very crude.