Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

30mm Round identification please

Article about: Hi Guys. Can someone please help me id this round. It is a 30mm but is longer than anything I can find on the net at 285mm long from base to tip of projectile. My camera is not up to taking

Default 30mm Round identification please

Hi Guys.

Can someone please help me id this round. It is a 30mm but is longer than anything I can find on the net at 285mm long from base to tip of projectile. My camera is not up to taking a pic of the headstamps but they are as follows - on each quarter of the base is 57 CE 25 S

Also on the lower end of the case above the base is BMR 4/58

I'm new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Max.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 30mm Round identification please  

I've got an idea for anybody that doesn't but cares to know...
    Measure the Diameter of the projectile (nominal caliber) and then the length of the Case.
    That will give you within reasonable tolerance your ammunition size which you can ask here or Google as you desire.
    The largest that comes to mind would be about 30 x 210mm which one saw enough of in the Balkans
    Last edited by Teck 147; 05-23-2023 at 10:01 AM.

?

This could be the one of russian aircraft ammo, should be measured lenght of case, not the complete lenght.
    Was the 30mm cannon found in the J-37 Viggen aircraft the same caliber as the common Aden/DEFA 30mm cannons found in Mirages and Jaguars? - Quora

Default Russian?

Yeah. I suspected it might be Russian as the only rounds I can find with the double rows of interupted crimps are on Russian rounds. The case alone measures 168mm. A lot of 30mm rounds are described as 30mm X 173mm.
    May be in that area, most of the pics of those look around the same size as the Russian ones when there is a frame of reference such as someone holding one in their hands.

?