Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Local Find Ike Jacket

Article about: A few months back I found this really cool Ike jacket at a local antique store. The lady selling it told me that she picked it up from a local estate sale, and had no other information behin

Default Local Find Ike Jacket

A few months back I found this really cool Ike jacket at an antique store. The lady selling it told me that she picked it up from a local estate sale, and had no other information behind it. She only wanted $35 for it, so I went ahead and bought the thing. From the looks of it, I’d say the guy it belonged to saw a lot of historical events. All of the ribbon bars are sewn directly onto to the jacket. I’m still pretty new with collecting U.S. items, so I thought I would post it here to get some thoughts.

Best regards- Jarret

Local Find Ike JacketLocal Find Ike Jacket

Jarret,

This is a nice looking Ike jacket.. a couple of observations..based on the ribbons the soldier saw service in the Pacific in WW2 as indicated by the Asiatic Pacific ribbon, Philippine ribbon and WW2 victory ribbon. He most likely served in Japan on occupation duty as well as indicated by the occupation ribbon. Now he also served in the Korean war as indicated by the Korean service ribbon and United Nations ribbon. He most likely served with the 3rd infantry division in Korea, since the 3rd was in Italy during WW 2. His current patch places him serving in Europe post Korean war. I can't tell by the photo since I'm on cell phone if the patch is US Army Europe or if there is the Berlin tab over the rainbow, if that's the case the soldier was in the Berlin brigade stationed in Berlin. Either way this is a very nice looking uniform. I see it is missing collar brass but based on the combat infantryman badge it appear he was an infantry soldier, and he was also awarded 2 bronze star medals, maybe one in WW2 and the second in Korea..

Smitty