Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Hand writing comparison

Article about: G'day All, I've had this Australian Tunic for a long time and have only just started digging up on the fella! His service number written in on the tunic tag VX16839 GJ Gillard doesn't match

?

The same details appear crossed out (under the purple ink).. I think.

It is far more likely that a hurried, over-worked clerk should get his number wrong than him!

Lovely tunic René.
    Cheers.

Cheers Fellas, sure is a head scratcher!

?

It's all good fun though trying to figure it out

This is all very interesting! I really hope it is your guy.

I want to start out saying I'm in no way a handwritting expert. But, I am a teacher and often have to identify who's unnamed paper is who's based on previous documents, or analyizing their unsigned notes when they threaten to harm themselves or others. I've gotten pretty decent at it. Here's my opinions just solely based on the handwriting of the numbers and last name written on the tunic and document. The numbers don't look like they were written by the same person. The 8s to me don't look like the same handwritting. Notice on the document that neither of the 8s have the tops connected and leaves a gap on the right sides; the top-left curve of the 8s come to a point then cut back in at a sharper angle while making a slight upward arc too, and the bottom "o" shape of the 8s while smaller than the top is not significantly smaller. Versus the 8s on the tunic where both 8s are closed at the top, do not come as much to a point on the top-left curve while its angled line toward the middle connection point doesn't cut as sharp and bulges slightly out instead of in, and then its 8s bottom "o" shapes look quite a bit smaller in comparison to its upper half. The 6s in both look different to me. The 6 on the document has more of a straight up-and-down line, then loop-around ends decently high on the "y-axis" of the line, no