Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5

Named heart shield bible

Article about: I recently purchased this Ww2 pocket Bible, It supposedly came in the box. The box has a pvt’s name on it. I believe it says pvt James C. Atkins. Any information on the pvt would be a grea

I looked around on the website. It looks great! Would it be better for me to just get a membership to ancestry and research the many named wwii items I have. I’ve never used ancestry before but I have heard it is generally a good site for research of your ancestry no pun intended. How is ancestry for researching wwii and other military conflicts throughout the ages. I would like to see what would be better for me in researching multiple veterans items. I’d rather spend less and be able to find out more. Golden arrow seems to be very good with finding information on battles etc. would it be possible to find that information on ancestry?

Ancestry is alright for finding some basic information but you would be far better off reaching out to Geoff.. Ancestry does not have access to specific records that are maintained at NARA due to their military nature and in some cases classification. Morning reports and other sensitive information will not be on ancestry.

You may also want to consider what I suggested earlier and contact NARA. I attached the tutorial link on how to send records requests to NARA. They may have limited staff at this time but if you send in the request they will get to it eventually..