Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

Medal Wojska

Article about: Does anyone have access to the Medal Wojska lists? I'm looking for a Junak who claims to have been at Monte Cassino. I suppose when they turned 18 they joined the army? I can't find him list

Default Medal Wojska

Does anyone have access to the Medal Wojska lists?

I'm looking for a Junak who claims to have been at Monte Cassino. I suppose when they turned 18 they joined the army? I can't find him listed in MCC, 3DSK or 5KDP.

name: Michael Wirszycz born around 1926.
    He is listed on Junacka Szkoła Kadetów, JSK - Palestine.

"came to the UK from Poland. He served as part of the Free Polish Army in World War II under General Anders fighting at El Alamein, in the Sicily Crossing and the Battle of Monte Cassino. He was presented with the Polish Military Cross for his services."
    - ??? El Alamein, in the Sicily Crossing - doesn't sound likely to me but I'm no expert.

Any comments, tips would be appreciated,

Elzunia Gradosielska Olsson
    Sweden
    Kresy Family group

Hi Elzunia

I have only a small amount of the Medal Wojska lists, anyone who has had access to the large binders they are in will know it is a nightmare to obtain information unless you are fortunate to find them in the main award section.

The Medal Wojska was awarded (and the information collated) in groups from 1946-48, and some even later.

That means you may have to search across many groups before you find the person you are looking for.

The MCC list is of course around 48800 the medal wojska list is around the 106000 mark so more searching to do.

The only advice I could give is to contact the PISM in London.

Regards Kevin

Thank you Kevin. Yes, I've been through the binders before so I know exactly what you mean. But as far as I know, this is the only way of finding out which unit a soldier was in. Or do you know of a better way?