Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Is anything about this SS Visor Cap original?...

Article about: Hi all. I know fake SS caps can be the bane of an SS collector's existence, but as always I like to get feedback about items I have little experience with, and SS caps are one such category

?

Thanks so much for all of your help and wisdom, as usual, Friedrich!

Question for you...

As Bob mentioned early in this thread, it is of course good to study the examples in this forum (many posted by you, kindly enough), but I'm not sure I agree with his statement that the conclusion about the posted cap should be obvious and here's why...

In my limited study there are quite a few variations with these caps, including bill type/material, leather band color/style, liner material, diamond (some with the SS some without, some gold, some silver, etc), some are "teller" style while others are the more modern peaked style. While some of these variations are quite subtle, they do indeed exist. In fact one of the only true constants I've noticed among all variations of NCO caps is the center chin strap buckle.

My question is this... Are there a set of "rules" (for lack of a better term) that you would apply to SS cap collecting where is a cap deviated from these rules it can be deemed as fake? This may be tough to answer.

Thanks again!
    Dzyner

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is anything about this SS Visor Cap original?...
    P
    Many