Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here

1980s M1 parachute liner research

Article about: Hi all, Bit of a rambling post here, but I've been doing some research on an M1 liner that I was hoping knowledgeable folks might be able to help me with. A friend of mine found out I've bee

Default 1980s M1 parachute liner research

Hi all,

Bit of a rambling post here, but I've been doing some research on an M1 liner that I was hoping knowledgeable folks might be able to help me with. A friend of mine found out I've been getting into militaria recently and brought me an M1 parachute liner he got when he was a kid to see what I could find out about it. I've been doing a bunch of research into it online and have found some information, but I'm by no means an expert in these, and I know the M1 liner can be a real rabbit hole of mixed parts and replacement bits issued over the years. So I wanted to post the pictures here as well to see if I'm on the right track with my information and whether there are other details you can see in it that I'm missing. Here's the liner:

From what my friend told me he got the liner from a retired Canadian soldier, although my friend doesn't know exactly when he served. The suspension is not removable, and one site I found said that the A-shaped washers holding it in would date the assembly from the mid 1960s to the mid 1970s. However, the markings on the suspension seem to be from the mid-1980s:

The blacked-out bar is covering an NSN number, 8470-00-753-5793, which came up as a US code for the Parachutists' Helmet Liner. I assume it was blacked out when the helmet was issued in Canada, although I don't know if this is common practice. The liner also has another NIN stamp on the opposite side, 8470-21-857-5684, which seems to be the corresponding Canadian stamp:

I searched those numbers in the ISO Group database to find their designation, but I don't know if there's a way to tell from that number when the part was issued.