Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner

Article about: This was a recent acquisition, for what I hope was a good price! I'm not really an expert on M1 helmets, though I now have three of them. This one is by far the best of the lot. Posted here

Default McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner

This was a recent acquisition, for what I hope was a good price! I'm not really an expert on M1 helmets, though I now have three of them. This one is by far the best of the lot.

Posted here for your enjoyment, a near-mint M1 helmet with an early 'Hawley' liner. The shell is a McCord, with the heatstamp 166A, which I believe dates it to early/mid-1942 (I may be mistaken, as I don't know my American helmets that well!). It has a stainless steel rim, fixed bales, and the earlier brass chinstrap buckle with a raised bar. Aside from a couple of minor scuffs to the dome, which look fairly recent, the paint is pretty much all there.

McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner

The liner, as mentioned previously, is a so-called 'Hawley', more accurately referred to as an early fiber liner, as they were made by several companies. The nape strap is marked J&J, for Johnson & Johnson, though there are no markings inside the liner itself. The sweatband is the rare 'double wire' type, and is also marked, though I can't read the markings clearly without removing it from the helmet, which I'm not keen to do! Unlike many of these liners, which didn't hold up well under combat conditions, this one has survived without any significant damage besides some light fraying to the edge. The leather chinstrap is good and supple, though a little flaky.

McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner McCord Fixed Bale M1 with Hawley Liner