Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Eisernes Kreuz 1. Klasse, L/16, 4, Double Marked Steinhauer & Lück

Article about: Hello Everyone, I'm yet to buy my first EK1 and have been on the look out for the right one. I've seen the EK1 shown in attached photos and have a few questions. I know that Steinhauer &

Default Eisernes Kreuz 1. Klasse, L/16, 4, Double Marked Steinhauer & Lück

Hello Everyone,

I'm yet to buy my first EK1 and have been on the look out for the right one.

I've seen the EK1 shown in attached photos and have a few questions.

I know that Steinhauer & Lück are one of if not the most common manufacturer of EK1's. A double marked Steinhauer & Lück is rarer than a standard marked cross but they aren't actually considered rare.

Firstly, what are your thoughts regarding authenticity?

I'm not an expert but I've done what limited research I can, I've looked at past forum posts and again used this very helpful website - Eisernes Kreuz 1. Klasse - Iron Cross 1st Class - EK1-DNA

Everything seems correct although I have not been able to exactly match the bottom of the '1' to any of the 4's or L16's. The very ends of the base of the 1 seem to flair up. This may be just down to the fact I'm unable to zoom all the way into the photos on the website.

Secondly, do you think the hook and pin have been replaced at some point?

I don't know how to say it other than it doesn't look clean, many of the other posts that show EK1's that have darkened areas always seem to come to conclusion that the hook and pin have been replaced. You can also see an area of messy solder around the hook.

Thirdly, do you have any ideas on what would of caused the indentations on the corners of the frame? (marked on the photo).

It almost looks like someone has taken some steel wool around the edges of the frame.

As always, any help/info would be much appreciated.

Regards,