Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My First Soldbuch

Article about: Hello folks. Having collected Wehrpasses for some time, I decided to pick up a couple of cheap Soldbucher a few weeks ago. I'm new to these, so will have trouble translating them. I will do

Default My First Soldbuch

Hello folks.

Having collected Wehrpasses for some time, I decided to pick up a couple of cheap Soldbucher a few weeks ago. I'm new to these, so will have trouble translating them. I will do my best.

His name was Johann Köhnen, born on the 27th December 1897 in the city of Koblenz. He worked as an official of some kind (having trouble with the handwriting) and was married to Maria Köhnen (geb. Becker). He was issued this document on 10th September 1943, in Metz. The cover appears to have been partially denazified.

I've always had trouble with tracking unit movements in these identity documents, and the different layout in comparison to the Wehrpaß makes it that much harder to decode. He appears to have been hospitalized with stomach problems on several occasions, notably at a hospital in Warsaw in July 1944, just prior to the uprising in August. He was promoted twice during his service with the Wehrmacht, to Gefreiter on 1st December 1944, and to Obergefreiter on 1st February 1945. As to what units he served with specifically, where and when, I have no idea. the abbreviations of unit names have always stumped me.

There is nothing special in this Soldbuch, as far as I know. But the idea of it spending the duration of Johann's service tucked in his pocket makes it that much more interesting to me. Wherever he went, whatever he experienced, this exact document was there with him. The smudged ink and water stains only add to that.