Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bastogne tips

Article about: Going to Bastogne fairly soon... any tips? P.S It's my first time going on a big trip MDing so any beginner tips will also be a big help. I have a garret 250 if that helps.

Default Bastogne tips

Going to Bastogne fairly soon... any tips?
    P.S It's my first time going on a big trip MDing so any beginner tips will also be a big help. I have a garret 250 if that helps.

Default Re: Bastogne tips

When are you going? I live an hour down the road? I have been there over 20 times and I never have any luck but I didnt detect every time...

I don't want to discourage you but most of the Bastogne area has been cleaned out, except for the usual cartridges.
    It is a no-go area for MD except on privat property.

yep, when i went last year. We ran into a tour guide who said that it been cleaned out by MD, so it pointless. Still good place to visit.
    Dont bother buying anything in bastgone, everything is over priced.

Quote by Franz1944 View Post
    Dont bother buying anything in bastgone, everything is over priced.
    Thats true the souvenir shops are overpriced and most of it wasn't even recovered in the area.
    If you are lucky and there is a "Brocante"(yard sale) in the villages of the area, you still migth find something worthwhile at a good price.
    Just checked the dates and the first one is in May.

If not Bastogne then where would you recommend for a newbie like me. within a few hours of Kaiserslautern if possible.

A newbie like you I would advise to read the thread on laws relating to metal detecting found here....

Laws pertaining to Metal Detecting.

...and wait for ww2hunter to advise you as he lives in Belgium. You pick the wrong place to dig and you will incur heavy penalties and loss of equipment.

Steve T

Hey jacjac98,