Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated

Article about: Good Evening! Wanted to post photos of the first dagger i bought a few years ago (and hopefully as a neophyte didn't get screwed over or buy a forgery)....based on information i read around

Default First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated

Good Evening!

Wanted to post photos of the first dagger i bought a few years ago (and hopefully as a neophyte didn't get screwed over or buy a forgery)....based on information i read around the time and after purchasing, it seems legit, but i'm no expert so I though I would submit it here for your perusal.

It's not a great dagger, but very much a beginning one, as the inscription is rather scruffy, it's obviously got some wear and I have yet to be able to determine the maker's mark as it is largely rubbed off, but it *appears* (fingers crossed) to be a real example of a dagger....i hope.

Let me know what you think....if anyone would like more pictures, let me know.

Dave
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated   First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated  

First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated   First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated  

First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated   First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated  

First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement First SS Dagger Purchased; Feedback and Comments Appreciated
    P
    Many

?

David,

It is a real dagger, made by Gottlieb Hammesfahr of Solingen-Foche.

But it has been extensively reworked, cleaned, and scrubbed. The scabbard seems to have been repainted.

I agree as well with Daves observations

Regards Larry