Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS chained

Article about: Hi All, I have been offered this chained SS dagger to purchase. I have it in my possession for inspection prior to buying and I am looking for opinions/advice on it as I am no expert on them

?

Default SS chained

Hi All,

I have been offered this chained SS dagger to purchase. I have it in my possession for inspection prior to buying and I am looking for opinions/advice on it as I am no expert on them by a long way. This is the only one I've thought about buying in over 40 years ! Wanted one for a long time though. I have watched some of Wittman's guides, read various articles etc but am still a bit confused over this one. Dagger cross guards are non magnetic, so they are solid nickle ? Scabbard centre band, throat etc are magnetic so nickle plate ? Chain links and connectors non magnetic but Wotan knot and clip magnetic(I think steel). So my concerns are :-

1 - different metals to chain/clip(should they all be magnetic/non magnetic

2 - connector to centre band has been replaced I think as it is a brass finish with just a bit of plating left.

3 - has the chain/clip/knot been put together from different parts ?

Please advise if any further photos are required. many thanks in advance for any help. MM
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS chained   SS chained  

SS chained   SS chained  

SS chained   SS chained  

SS chained  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS chained
    P
    Many

Good Observations MM

With Chained SS daggers and with their high value ..you want it to be all correct without doubt.
    One non compliant detail bins it for me / I walk away from it.
    Not your typical Mid period type B2.

The chain tabs itself are mixed between B1 and Type C
    Chained SS Study of the 4 Chain types

Parted chain and dont waste your time.

Regards Larry