Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

M42 Police Camo

Article about: Evening Gentlemen- Chime in men and share your thoughts please on this M42 that’s being offered to me. Is it worth owning/collecting. Helmets do interest me, but, I have no knowledge or ba

Default M42 Police Camo

Evening Gentlemen-
    Chime in men and share your thoughts please on this M42 that’s being offered to me. Is it worth owning/collecting. Helmets do interest me, but, I have no knowledge or baseline when it comes to painted helmets. Thanks for your time looking at this bucket.

- Von Ritt

M42 Police CamoM42 Police CamoM42 Police CamoM42 Police Camo

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M42 Police Camo
    P
    Many

I am rather horrid with helmets, so take my opinion with a heaping pile of salt. Looks like the exterior was painted over, as I /think/ I see some pitting that was painted over. Liner's aging doesn't look right to me, but that could just be my lack of knowledge. Can't comment on decal, but it doesn't seem pointed enough at the base. The shell itself looks nice. I assume someone took a decent 70-80 dollar helmet and tried to make it more than it is. Hard pass for me, but wait for opinions from those that know better than I.

I personally can't comment on the camo, as that kind of stuff is out of my league. Anyway you slice it you have a great helmet though! If the camo turns out to be no good you can always strip off the fake stuff to reveal the nice original paint underneath. I just did that with two helmets in my collection that were overpainted postwar. lets see what the helmet experts have to say first though.

?

Don’t believe the camo paint.
    Last edited by relicz; 01-22-2021 at 04:19 AM.

Appreciate the observations. Few things crossed my mind after studying this helmet a bit more.