Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Relic found in Poland, infos needed

Article about: Hi there, my name is Nicola and I’m from Roma Italy. I’m new to WW2 collectability (although my grandma has plenty of fascism memorabilia). In a recent trip to Poland (east area, Lublin), I

Nikkk
    ?

Default Relic found in Poland, infos needed

Hi there, my name is Nicola and I’m from Roma Italy. I’m new to WW2 collectability (although my grandma has plenty of fascism memorabilia). In a recent trip to Poland (east area, Lublin), I bought in a local antiques market this metal helmet, I paid really little money for it (around 15 Us dollars). The seller said this was an original ss helmet just used for years by kids for playing…..
    It was painted in black with a thick paint and its interiors probably replaced. I’m trying to spot serials or size number but so far with no luck (hopefully after sanding something will be visible).
    Being a newbie in this world i’m trying to understand if is a real ww2 german helmet and according to its shape and the pics I’ve seen on the web seem to be authentic (m 36 or 42 dunno).

I’ve tried to scratch some of the new paint and no original color arise, only rust…hence I suppose it is a relic probably berried for years
    My intentions are to sand it, paint it with original color and replace its interiors with replicas (if possible) and apply new decals. I know the result will not be the most rare and pricy German helmet but for me being authentic is enough to deserve some room in my house.

I’d like to have your opinion about its authenticity and model infos, also any advice on how to approach the restoration will be highly appreciate.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

2. # ADS

Default Re: Relic found in Poland, infos needed

Well, I can say it is a very rusty M42 helmet. It is real, but overpainted a lot.
    Best Regards

Vegard T.
    -------------------------------