Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Finnish Medic / Lääkintamies Kit

Article about: Greetings all, I am trying to put together a Finnish Medic bag / kit. I have a number of items alreadly which I will show once I have taken some photos. My day job is as an Emergency Departm

Default Finnish Medic / Lääkintamies Kit

Greetings all,

I am trying to put together a Finnish Medic bag / kit. I have a number of items alreadly which I will show once I have taken some photos.

My day job is as an Emergency Department Nurse both for the NHS and the military so having read what I can on the subject I can figure out some bits of what they had, but I am trying to go for accuracy!

Any help or photos is much appreciated.

Kittos!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Finnish Medic / Lääkintamies Kit
    P
    Many

I'm guessing you are trying to complete or fill m/41 medic bag. Those basic bags came in two flawors, basic "Lääk.Mies" = medic bag and "Lääk.Alik." = Medic NCO bag.
    After this was doctors bag with all syringes, morphine and stuff, I have seen one complete one, quite rare thing.

But I think all those bags had a cloth list stitched inside of the flap, written on them what they are supposed to contain. This is your source you want to find.

But I don't have any of those bags, sorry.
    Medic Soldiers bag was very basic with only bunch of bandages.

Thanks for that. I did think it would be something like that. I have found a useful book from Finland specifically on the medical services of the land forces but I'm just waiting for it to turn up (and then translate it).

I have attached my small collection here, I have a rough translation of the contents of the medic pouch (which from photos appears to be given to the frontline medics).

1. 1 x roll of gauzes (?)
    2. 3 x roll of cambric bandages
    3. 3 x small first aid bandages
    4. 1 x triangular cloth
    Attached Images Attached Images