MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

WWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I have

Article about: I'm hoping somebody on here can tell me what I have. I'm a novice when it come to these swords. I've looked up Gunto, and 98's and I can't really tell the difference from one to another. I t

Default WWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I have

I'm hoping somebody on here can tell me what I have. I'm a novice when it come to these swords. I've looked up Gunto, and 98's and I can't really tell the difference from one to another. I took this sword on trade and just love the looks of it. I'm really interested on the top part (Kashira?) there is a circle with three lines and would like to know what this means as other swords I've looked at don't have this. I know I need to learn all the parts and their names so I can correctly ask about specific parts. But for now I'd just like to know if this is a katana? I'm pretty sure it's Army because of the tassle. But just would like a simple explanation of the model and such. I haven't taken this apart yet. Probably won't until I learn more about it. Thank you for anything you can provide on this.WWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I haveWWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I haveWWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I haveWWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I haveWWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I haveWWII Japanese sword question. Don't know what I have

A Type 98 Army officer's Gunto with the tassel indicating company grade officer. The silver disc has the character for river, a shortened family name that starts with Kawa (Kawamoto,-mura,-saki,-wada, zoe,-kita etc. etc). A nice piece. Now you'll have to show the tang.

To reinforce what Nick said:

Kawa
    ~gawa

--Guy

Mr. Rat (or may we call you Wharf?),