Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here

helmet liner good or bad

Article about: hi all thanks your opinion on this liner

?

Default helmet liner good or bad

hi all thanks your opinion on this liner
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture helmet liner good or bad   helmet liner good or bad  

helmet liner good or bad   helmet liner good or bad  

helmet liner good or bad  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement helmet liner good or bad
    P
    Many

1938 dated liners are rare. Yours looks to be the re-enforced type and has the square D rings. It should have an ink stamp on back side of the leather (facing the dome). Yours doesn't have that stamp. also the corrosion on the liner looks chemically induced, and its not on the back side of the band, yet the band is stained. Also the stains on the leather look like they are chemical stains and not age. I am no expert, I haven't been collecting helmets in over 10 years and there are much much better people who can identify these things better. I just saw a couple of red flags. Again I am basically new to helmet collecting because everything I thought I knew when I started 25 years ago went out the door with the advanced techniques today. I'm basically a rookie again.

I'm a bit late to the party.
    But looking at each component individually they all check out, the leather has some weird staining to it, that is true, the ink size stamp has the font I would expect for B&C.
    I wouldn't say 1938 liners are scarce in particular.
    Though all pre war alu (and reinforced) liners are sometimes hard to find.
    The liner band has all the characteristics I'd expect it to have, so does the inner ring and the felt on the leather is also the sort of brown felt I have seen with some pre war liners.
    I have yet to see a fake 1938 B&C liner, the usual ones are Schuberth and they are easy to spot (maker marking way too small and other details about how the liner band is constructed are off)