MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

M42 Heer Helmet Single Decal

Article about: I would like some opinions about this helmet I have. From my research, it has a Gustav Peiniger decal, yet it’s an M42. I want to make sure that it’s legitimate. Thank you

I'm no Forensics Expert, but as a humble collector, I think it's a Beauty!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M42 Heer Helmet Single Decal
    P
    Many

Quote by Jaws View Post
    Schwerpunkt, thank you for your reply! Is there anything specific about the helmet that makes you say its post-war? You have 5 SD Heer helmets on your list that are “rear marked,” one of them even states it has the “mad faced” decal. Which I understand to be the Gustav Peiniger variant. Nearly all the helmets on your list in that lot number brange have decals. If there are obviously other helmets that are “authenticated” with the same characteristics on your list and lot numbers cannot be trusted, what exactly is the issue?

Blackdog, stated “hairline cracks and damage to the decal” as the reason for his opinion. I don’t see hairline cracks. What about the damage to the decal makes it post war? Are your concerns the same? Can someone educate me on what to look for. I am a novice collector who would like to learn what to avoid.

I purchased the helmet from a very reputable dealer here in the US. He stands behind his items and has offered to buy the helmet back if I am no longer comfortable with it.
    There are a few things to take into consideration. Istarted the lot number list in 2006 as a research tool. Hoping to fill some knowledge gaps. At that time we had theories but less prove of production patterns. Even in 2006 the mad faced decal was considered post war applied in almost all cases if found on M42’ s.