Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage

Article about: Good day all. I have been given the opportunity to purchase a M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage As I have no experience with birdcage fitted helmets but am keen on adding one to my collection if it

Pal
    ?

Default M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage

Good day all.
    I have been given the opportunity to purchase a M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage
    As I have no experience with birdcage fitted helmets but am keen on adding one to my collection if it is original.
    But I am fully aware that birdcage wire is heavily reproduced.
    So I would be grateful for any advice on this helmet.
    Both manufacturers number and lot number are extremely difficult to identify.
    Thanking all in advance.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage   M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage  

M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage   M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage  

M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M42 Luftwaffe SD birdcage
    P
    Many

First and foremost thing to do would be to authenticate the eagle , what I am seeing so far is not good.

Pal
    ?

I have requested better photos of the decal and will post when received.
    At this point aside from the decal question, is there any possibility of the birdcage being original?

Photos are not very clear, but can I see very rusted wire over what appears to be some type of fresh paint beneath? There is no scientific process on 80+ year old helmets that I am aware of that explains that? The decal is suspect and it’s under the ‘bird cage’..

Quote by Pal View Post
    I have requested better photos of the decal and will post when received.
    At this point aside from the decal question, is there any possibility of the birdcage being original?
    If the decal is bad the wire is post war , for me not one to put effort in.

MAP
    ?

Regardless of the decal. I'm not a fan of the wire.