Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

My m42 helmet

Article about: Hello everyone, As the title states this is my m42 helmet. I'm pretty sure its a late production because of the poor markings quality and the vents. The only things that concerns me about th

Yeah that's what I was leaning towards as I'm no expert in leather repair or cleaning and wouldn't want to damage anything. Thank you for all the help!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement My m42 helmet
    P
    Many

I know this is an old thread, but with the quarantine going on I had the time to get some better pictures of this helmet and found an ink stamp on the inside of it. Also, I'm not 100% sure the black paint is post war done it looks like its got some age to it, for some reason the paint looks shinier in the photos than it does in hand.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture My m42 helmet   My m42 helmet  

My m42 helmet   My m42 helmet  

My m42 helmet   My m42 helmet  

I would personally say that the black on the outside is post war, but you can see the textured feldgrau beneath which is nice.
    A lot of helmets were painted over in black after the war and reused by fire departments, police forces etc all over continental Europe.
    And that on the liner does look like ink maybe from a pen or something, no idea how you'd best remove that..
    the ink stamp in the dome is an acceptance stamp which you quite commonly see in ET/ckl helmets.
    Usually reads something like " Abgenommen / Wehrmacht Bekleidungsamt für Heer und Marine / Abnahmestelle Thale H." I could be wrong, that's just from memory.
    Luis

Quote by PotatoDigger View Post
    I would personally say that the black on the outside is post war, but you can see the textured feldgrau beneath which is nice.
    A lot of helmets were painted over in black after the war and reused by fire departments, police forces etc all over continental Europe.