Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Panzerkampfabzeichen 50 (Real or Fake?)

Article about: Hi Everyone, I'm very new to this and do not have much experience. Literally just started collecting...today. In hindsight I've done something rather silly and purchased an advertised origin

?

a nice first score!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Panzerkampfabzeichen 50 (Real or Fake?)
    P
    Many

Hello Gentleman,

It's been a while. I have returned from my mission. Some parts completed, some parts not.

The bad news - I have still have yet to take photos of the badge, taking quality macro photos with sufficient lighting is really needed and I do not have the correct camera with the all important macro lens or the lighting setup. Hopefully within the next month or so depending on local lock down I'll be able to get hold of both a camera and lighting rig. I will still endeavour to post the photos when I do eventually manage to take some.

The good news - I have purchased a set of Panzer Assault Badge reference books from Philippe De Bock and have studied the relevant pages. I can say with some certainty that my badge is an original, early G.B. badge. All the correct features are there and match the examples shown.

- The badge is highly detailed.
    - The "50" shield/font is correct
    - The Acorn Cups, The Eagle's Claws, The Track Lines all match the examples shown.
    - The rivets are squashed and match
    - The die flaw between the right lower swastika arm
    - The hardware matches exactly to the example for an early G.B. badge. It has the first hinge variant but more importantly the catch, pin and hinge all show the unique tool marks (fingerprints)

The only thing I would say is that the C hook shape of the catch looks to me like it was bent slightly open at some point. The C does not appear to be as closed as the examples shown. It is still a C but the back is straighter, the back is only ever so slightly angled.