Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here

Field Repairs on Feldbluse

Article about: Hello, I am new to Axis militaria and have questions about the commonality and extent of field repairs. Is a patch-work tunic like this common place? It almost looks like madras. The holes f

Default Field Repairs on Feldbluse

Hello,

I am new to Axis militaria and have questions about the commonality and extent of field repairs. Is a patch-work tunic like this common place? It almost looks like madras. The holes for the suspenders seem to have been closed as to be inoperable.

Thank you,
    Brian

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Field Repairs on Feldbluse
    P
    Many

Quote by BrianFitzsimmons View Post
    Hello,

I am new to Axis militaria and have questions about the commonality and extent of field repairs. Is a patch-work tunic like this common place? It almost looks like madras. The holes for the suspenders seem to have been closed as to be inoperable.

Hello,
    What a survivor that is...!
    This Feldbluse 1933 modified 1940 has seen some action for sure.
    Period photos of german troops on the first line often show damaged Feldblusen and pants. The availability of such pieces of uniforms being very limited far from barracks and depots, the damaged garments were repaired by company tailors. Repaired Feldblusen in collection do exist, but they're far from being representative of the amount of repaired garments during the war. Most of damaged/repaired Feldblusen and pants ended in PoWs camps.