MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here

Help with k98 bayonet

Article about: Hello could y’all help me out with this k98 bayonet? I’ve had it in my collection for a while and I’m no expert on bayonets so I really don’t know much about it

Default Help with k98 bayonet

Hello could y’all help me out with this k98 bayonet? I’ve had it in my collection for a while and I’m no expert on bayonets so I really don’t know much about it
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Help with k98 bayonet   Help with k98 bayonet  

Help with k98 bayonet   Help with k98 bayonet  

Help with k98 bayonet   Help with k98 bayonet  

Help with k98 bayonet  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help with k98 bayonet
    P
    Many

42ffc would be made by F. Herder A Sn in 1942. Scabbard appears matching, nice bayonet! Its hard for me to read the frog stamp though.

Cheers!

Thanks. Sorry for the pictures being turned that way I’ll try to find a way to fix them

A matching S84/98 (a 98k bayonet never exist). Somewhat rusty and heavily used. Matching numbers is good

The manufacturer of the frog is A. Doppert, Lederfabrik Kitzingen.

Regards

Well the proper term for your bayonet would be (M1884/98 III), as they did reissue some M1884/98, M1894/98 II's, M1898 a/A, & M1898 n/A Bayonets for 'mostly' dress use, but its fine to refer to it as a Kar98k bayonet as they were only issuing the M1884/98 III bayonets for use on German issue Kar98k rifles originally, even if they did fit on German capture VZ-24's.

Also, I believe Sleepwalker is correct on the frog being A. Doppert, Lederfabrik Kitzingen, I was having trouble reading it!

For future reference I cant recommend the Kar98k Bayonets data registry enough!
    k98 bayonets data and registry