MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS-Dienstauszeichnung

Article about: Just want to know what you all think of this SS long service metal . It has great detail and the correct tear drop ring . Like to hear a value range also . Cheers Chris

CBH
    ?

Default SS-Dienstauszeichnung

Just want to know what you all think of this SS long service metal . It has great detail and the correct tear drop ring . Like to hear a value range also .
    Cheers Chris
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS-Dienstauszeichnung   SS-Dienstauszeichnung  

SS-Dienstauszeichnung  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS-Dienstauszeichnung
    P
    Many

Default Re: SS-Dienstauszeichnung

Imo its a fake I'm afraid. The detail doesn't quite do it

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Nick is right , bad one

These were made by only two known makers, allegedly Deschler and P&L. However it is not proven that Deschler actually made them.

So called Deschler made medals feature a background made up of fine dots, whereas the P&L made version has a background more akin to a fingerprint in looks.

The jump ring should not be rounded in form, but should be this shape ^. The suspension ring should also be jointed at the botton of the loop.

Note the 6 bindings to the wreath: never found on any original. This fake was made in the UK in the 1970's. Note the thorn like wreath.

I have also highlighed in white these die flaws (small blobs) which are trademarks of this fake.

Cheers, Ade.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS-Dienstauszeichnung  
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

CBH
    ?

Thank you all for the information , not good news . But now I know what to look for .
    Cheers Chris