Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Horster police bayonet opinions

Article about: Hi All, I hope you can give me your thoughts on this Bayonet. It looks genuine to me, however I am aware the German WW2 stuff is frequently copied, and I am no expert. The blade needs a clea

Default Horster police bayonet opinions

Hi All,

I hope you can give me your thoughts on this Bayonet.
    It looks genuine to me, however I am aware the German WW2 stuff is frequently copied, and I am no expert.
    The blade needs a clean, there is some loss to the plating and rust where it has been in contact with the internals of the scabbard.
    There is also some corrosion evident on the aluminum rivets, presumably this indicates less than ideal storage at some stage of its life.
    It also missing the staple on the scabbard throat.
    Overall however its in sound condition, and to me these really are impressive looking pieces.
    It is also stamped which I assume are some sort of issue marks?
    Anyhow, your expertise would be much appreciated,

HG
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Horster police bayonet opinions   Horster police bayonet opinions  

Horster police bayonet opinions   Horster police bayonet opinions  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Horster police bayonet opinions
    P
    Many

An authentic Polizei seitengewehr made by E & F Horster in the Weimar Republic era. It is in reasonably good condition and could be tidied up.
    The blade was shortened around 1935 (rather roughly) and TR era grip badge added. The Weimar era accountability marks match, which is good and mean; Schutzpolizei, Oppeln (now part of Poland), third district, weapon number 53.

?

Good is matching parts with scabbard, typical shortage of Polizei SG. Scabbard leather could be shrunked a little.

Well that is good news, much appreciated.