Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

A trio of Fire bayonets.

Article about: Hi, Just picked these up. While I know what they are I'm no expert as to know much about them. They are all different, two are totally unmarked. One is much shorter/finer than the other two,

Default A trio of Fire bayonets.

Hi,

Just picked these up.
    While I know what they are I'm no expert as to know much about them.
    They are all different, two are totally unmarked.
    One is much shorter/finer than the other two, and one has a sawback.
    Anything you can tell me would be appreciated.

Cheers,

HG
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture A trio of Fire bayonets.   A trio of Fire bayonets.  

A trio of Fire bayonets.   A trio of Fire bayonets.  

A trio of Fire bayonets.   A trio of Fire bayonets.  

A trio of Fire bayonets.  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement A trio of Fire bayonets.
    P
    Many

?

Nice Feuerwehr Faschinenmesser or Fireguard sidearms, the first RBNr 0/xxxx/xxxx marked frog is wrong there should be on S84/98 bayonet.

Nice group there, you have both the 20cm and 25cm blade Faschinenmesser for Feuerwehr. You now just need the sawback in 20cm, which was another option. Some debate on who used the short & long version. My WKC catalogue gives no clue, other than there was a sword for officers. So probably other ranks could choose.
    Unmarked examples are not uncommon. Is there a red or black dot at the end of the portepee knot?

?

On other place here Sleepwalker added the origin manual for Feuerwehr, and there is written longer blade for lower rank, short blade for Oberbrandmeister and higher when i remember correctly.

Thank you.
    Red dot.
    So, it terms of numbers, how common are the short and the sawback compared to the regular?
    Noted on the frog, thought it was different.
    Any advice on gently cleaning the Portepee, one is pretty filthy.