Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Paranormal Militaria?

Article about: I hope by the time I'm done writing this, y'all don't think I'm crazy. Lately I've been adding a lot to my WWII collection, mostly uniforms, but battlefield relics as well. I have everything

My natural inclination is to say that ghosts and other paranormal phenomena are nothing more than a bunch of bobbeldygook. However, I have had some unsettling experiences of my own.

The one I remember most centres around a relic German M35 helmet I purchased from a UK seller, who in turn had sourced it from a digger in Russia. It was little more than a block of rust, with virtually none of the original paint remaining. However, there was a very obvious bullet hole that entered where the tri-colour decal would have been, and exited through the skirt. What most collectors would term a 'KIA helmet'.

Being a logical kind of person, I didn't think anything of it. Most of the objects we collect will have been in close proximity to death in one form or another, so why should this one be any different? However, after placing the helmet in my cabinet, it wasn't long before 'stuff' started to happen. Whenever my family was downstairs, especially late in the evening, we'd often hear what sounded like someone moving from room to room above our heads. They were slow but very heavy footsteps, the kind you'd expect from someone carrying a lot of weight, but trying very hard to be quiet. Whenever someone went to investigate, there was of course no one there.

On several occasions, always after everyone had gone to bed, you'd hear the same footsteps coming up the stairs. They'd always stop at the top, never moving onto the landing, but again they were very distinct. On one occasion my brother's bedroom door, which is right at the top of the stairs, opened by itself, but that was about as far as it ever went.