Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Swedish M37 helmets

Article about: Good Morning to all, I want to show you my little collection of Swedish M37 helmets, I'm not a great expert on these helmets, but it is a model that I like a lot and I consider it very moder

Default Swedish M37 helmets

Good Morning to all,
    I want to show you my little collection of Swedish M37 helmets, I'm not a great expert on these helmets, but it is a model that I like a lot and I consider it very modern for the era in which it was developed.
    I take this opportunity to ask it you can date them from the marks on the shell, or by other details.
    Every opinion is welcome and I thank you in advance.

Greetings
    Roberto

Swedish M37 helmets

1)-M37
    Swedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmets

2)-M37
    Swedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmets

3)-M37
    Swedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmets

4)-M37/62
    Swedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmetsSwedish M37 helmets

I do not know of any way to precisely date these helmets, as so far as I know the only markings within are acceptance/size marks. But there are three variants, so you can date them roughly by that. The original is the one with leather pads and chinstrap, the second version (introduced from 1962) has a German-made Schuberth suspension held from a fitting in the crown of the helmet and fabric chinstraps (you have this), and the third, introduced from 1970, has a different Schuberth liner which has no central attachment but fits into plastic attachments rivetted to the front and back of the inside of the helmet. It also has fabric straps.

The best illustrations of all these are on Joseba at Pagina nueva 1