Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Swedish M37 helmets

Article about: Good Morning to all, I want to show you my little collection of Swedish M37 helmets, I'm not a great expert on these helmets, but it is a model that I like a lot and I consider it very moder

Probably Eskilstuna Stalpressnings AB in Eskilstuna

The Swedish M37 was also used by The Danish Brigade trained and equipped in Sweden 43-45. It's extremely rare as the brigade never exceeded 5,000 men including all support functions and air and naval personnel.

Swedish M37 helmets

Swedish M37 helmets

Swedish M37 helmets

The Swedish M37. It's just not 'warry' enough is it. Taken for granted as just an 'ordinary helmet', and Advanced Collectors barely notice it much less wonder "If only it could talk...". But there's a lot going on with this sturdy, serviceable, and attractive little thing.

As you know, Professor, this basic helmet was in service for at least fifty years and went through three major changes. The shells remain the same (leaving aside possible changes in weight due to material changes, minor manufacturing differences etc) but there have been three liners and three chinstrap types used, all of them substantially different. The three liners are shown below, the leather being the earliest, Swedish-made, essentially the same as on previous Swedish helmets. The second is the dome-mounted Schuberth I-53 liner as seen in West German police/BGS helmets of the early 1950s; this version was introduced 1960-62, and in collector-speak is known as either the M37/60 or M37/62 depending on who you're reading. (As far as I know the Swedes made no distinctions.). The third and last is another Schuberth liner, this one mounted on plastic supports riveted into the shell, and is usually known as the M37/65.