Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Swedish M37 helmets

Article about: Good Morning to all, I want to show you my little collection of Swedish M37 helmets, I'm not a great expert on these helmets, but it is a model that I like a lot and I consider it very moder

Glad you approve. It was a bit of a task to draw up the templates them make and join the pieces but it did all come together quite nicely so a bit of planning was worth it in the end I suppose. My somewhat limited experience suggests that if stored in good conditions or if regularly worn with natural oils from the head and hair being absorbed leather liners seem to hold up pretty well but its when they are effectively dumped and exposed to repeated warmth and cold for prolonged periods that the leather deteriorates (and as someone who has worked in a library the same principles apply to leather or vellum covered books which is why temperature and humidity is tightly regulated to prevent 'drying out'). As the shell was in good condition but the fixings quite rusty I suspect the culprit was poor storage in this case. As it was only ever intended to be for my small collection it would never be sold on and certainly not as an original - just a nice companion piece to the M26/65 & M37/65 I have.

I cant find any information and no good examples about M37 helmet rubber comb.

Swedish M37 helmets Swedish M37 helmets Swedish M37 helmets
    Last edited by Estonian; 11-01-2023 at 01:38 PM.

Quote by Estonian View Post
    I have just checked the 2022 Skotte book and there is no mention or illustration of this object. It might be included in the following volume (not yet published) which covers developments beyond 1945.

A couple photos of mine to add to this thread and the markings

Matt
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Swedish M37 helmets   Swedish M37 helmets  

Swedish M37 helmets