Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

Desk Eagle, opinions please!

Article about: Hello, i already bougth this desk bird at Hermann Historica auction and i hope and think its a genuine piece and imo it looks looks great, good details but i am not an expert on this desk ea

Default Desk Eagle, opinions please!

Hello, i already bougth this desk bird at Hermann Historica auction and i hope and think its a genuine piece and imo it looks looks great, good details but i am not an expert on this desk eagels but always wanted to ad one for my collection, i hope i did ok??? would be great to hear some other opinions,

here are the Description " Bronze metal national eagle with spread wings, left facing head, attached to a tan marble pedestal base with felt backing on the bottom. Dimensions approx. 26 cm width x 17 cm height."

Best Regards Tobias

Attached Files

Hej Tobias,
    Must say I am not a fan of this one sorry...
    Too many blops all over for my liking.. And the backside is something I've never seen before... The marble base itself looks like brick!!
    Sorry my friend not one for me.

Tobias,

I have to agree with the good Colonel.. This looks too new and in my opinion the description is the dead give-away that this is not a WW2 period piece. The item description avoids any indication that this Desk ornament is a pre May 1945 item. One of the ways dealers skirt the truth but are still able to sell items to unsuspecting buyers.. Research and scouring thousands of Third Reich period photos and images of Desk ornamentation will be your best best before a purchase like this.. Now I will add that there may be "one of a kind" uniquely made pieces but in this case the backing looks odd, almost like a stick pin that was blown up 1000 times it's original size...

Best regards

Smitty

?

Agree, it looks modern to me too.

Thanks for all opinions.

I see i posted in wrong Sub forum should be moved to TR exotica, Anyway