Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Scampton church yard

Article about: I have been to Scampton village church, Lincolnshire which is the final resting place of some British, Canadian and Australian airmen. There are also eleven graves of German airmen. The link

Default Re: Scampton church yard

Quote by Paul E View Post
    Thanks for posting Dave and Eric. I must admit i've always promised myself i would do a trip to Scampton and the surrounding areas ,always been interested in Guy Gibson, hopefully might get there this year. Has anyone been to the pub in Lincoln that has all the Bomber Command memoroblia in it ?
    Hi Paul

I think you mean the 'Saracens Head' in Lincoln high street but sadly it is now shops

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Bloody hell mate that's bad news
    The gates of hell were opened and we accepted the invitation to enter" 26/880 Lance Sgt, Edward Dyke. 26th Bn Northumberland Fusiliers , ( 3rd Tyneside Irish )

1st July 1916

Thought shall be the harder , heart the keener,
    Courage the greater as our strength faileth.
    Here lies our leader ,in the dust of his greatness.
    Who leaves him now , be damned forever.
    We who are old now shall not leave this Battle,
    But lie at his feet , in the dust with our leader

House Carles at the Battle of Hastings

Quote by Paul E View Post
    Bloody hell mate that's bad news
    Sure is Paul. Guy Gibson endearingly refers to it as the 'snake-pit' in his superb book 'Enemy Coast Ahead'
    Enemy Coast Ahead - Uncensored: The Real Guy Gibson - Guy Gibson, Harold Martin - Google Books

Here are some pics of the location of the Saracens Head:
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Scampton church yard   Scampton church yard  

Scampton church yard