Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

1944 Polikarpov Po-2

Article about: I had a private tour of one of my favourite aircraft at the weekend! This beauty is part of the Shuttleworth Collection at Old Warden Aerodrome, Biggleswade. She is airworthy and shows off a

Default 1944 Polikarpov Po-2

I had a private tour of one of my favourite aircraft at the weekend!

This beauty is part of the Shuttleworth Collection at Old Warden Aerodrome, Biggleswade.

She is airworthy and delights crowds at the regular air shows there

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 1944 Polikarpov Po-2   1944 Polikarpov Po-2  

1944 Polikarpov Po-2   1944 Polikarpov Po-2  

Last edited by Woolgar; 02-10-2020 at 07:40 PM.
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1944 Polikarpov Po-2
    P
    Many

Excellent Nick. Great to be able to take a seat inside the plane! Cool!

more shots
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 1944 Polikarpov Po-2   1944 Polikarpov Po-2  

1944 Polikarpov Po-2  
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

a few more

?

Wonderful experience! Those young girls, Night Witches, who were about 20, made this plane fly and fight so you can imagine what they felt flying through night blasts above the enemies.

But this wild mix of letters make me think that this item was made in China.

1944 Polikarpov Po-2

Yes the Engineer said that it wasn't an original gun, they just added it for show

As for the Night Witches, I have read many accounts of their exploits....brave girls indeed!

Nick