Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here

Soviet Helmet Books

Article about: Greetings, I was wondering if anyone knows of good reference books about Soviet helmets. I am especially interested in reference books that include SSH 36, SSH 39, and SSH 40. I already have

Default Soviet Helmet Books

Greetings,

I was wondering if anyone knows of good reference books about Soviet helmets. I am especially interested in reference books that include SSH 36, SSH 39, and SSH 40. I already have "Tin hats to composite helmets" and "Elmetti da combattimento di tutto il mondo" (combat helmets of the world). I've found a reference to Ivan Karabanovs' book, I even e-mailed him but received no response. The only book I found (that was available) was "Russian Helmets: from Kaska to Stalshlyem", is it any good?. I'm relatively new to collecting. I am going to Poland in 2 months and was planning to get one (Russian helmet) there.

On a side note, does anyone know of good militaria stores in Warsaw, Krakow, or Gdansk? Thank you for your time.

-Byron writing for his son

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Soviet Helmet Books
    P
    Many

As far as I know, Ivan Karabonov's book is sold out. That may be the reason why you do not get a response.
    Maybe you can find a second hand copy somewhere on the Internet.

You will probably encounter a Soviet Russian SSh-39 or 40 during your visit to Poland. If you are looking for a WWII example, you have to be careful. There are many counterfeits in circulation.

?

Russian Helmets: from Kaska to Stalshlyem is not a bad book for general education it does the job and it helped me navigate the confusion on the Ssh40s I have. I don't have Ivan Karabanovs' book to compare it to. It is available on Amazon if there aren't better options on eBay.

Steve.

Thanks Tinhat: