Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here

Luftwaffe leather pilot jacket. Is it all real?

Article about: Recently I saw this Luftwaffe leather summer jacket on a military fair and I had to have it. I think it's a stunning piece, allthough it's heavily worn. Because I'm not an expert, I hope I d

Default Luftwaffe leather pilot jacket. Is it all real?

Recently I saw this Luftwaffe leather summer jacket on a military fair and I had to have it. I think it's a stunning piece, allthough it's heavily worn.
    Because I'm not an expert, I hope I didn't buy a jacket with a lot of fake stuff on it. What's your opinion about it?

The leather is dry and the interior is heavily worn. At the inside is a fainted label of the manufacturer. I think I read 1940 and a FL number. I've never seen a leather jacket with such label. Is it real?
    Both the breast eagle and the pilot/observer patch looks to me hand ambroidered with metal alloy thread. The p/o patch is on a strange spot and the yellow thread is heavily worn. Why?
    Above the left pocket are 2 small holes where a metal badge has been. I think there has been a little glued patch with wings also.
    On one pocket and one sleave are brown buttons with the text IMP DE TCHECOSLC. (imported from TsjechoSlowakia to France?).
    On the other pocket and sleeve metal buttons with no text. Later repair?
    The buttons for the shoulder straps are marked FKS 1942. The boards are for a Luftwaffe officer Hauptmann. Original?

The big zipper is sadly broke. Underneath the zipper is marked BREVETE SGDG, a famous old French manufacturer.
    The 2 zippers on the pockets are still functional and are marked SAS.