Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Heer opinions please

Article about: Being as I love knives and am an Army vet I have decided to purchase an officer's dagger to begin my collection. I'm looking at quality early to mid war pieces mostly and would much apprecia

?

Default Heer opinions please

I'm looking at quality early to mid war pieces mostly and would much appreciate any and all guidance here. I am familiar with several online resource sites such as wardaggers. I am a newbie though and have a long way to go. I will post up pics of several pieces available to me and thanks in advance for comments on them.

First, an unmarked, personalized piece of which I have had little progress in gaining information on.

Heer opinions pleaseHeer opinions pleaseHeer opinions pleaseHeer opinions pleaseHeer opinions pleaseHeer opinions please
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Heer opinions please  
    Last edited by 11B1V; 03-13-2019 at 06:48 AM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Heer opinions please
    P
    Many

?

Well that is an Alcoso type 2 guard, the largest Eagle produced on Heer daggers, its also a very rare one.

Regards
    Ger

?

Thanks very much for your reply Ger. I had considered the Alcoso type 2 but wasn't sure and was leaning more towards the generic "B" but as I stated am new to this. I now see the slight notch in the eagles beak and less brow above the eye. I can see the dagger has the common type B grip as well. I wanted to know if the configuration of the rest of the dagger/scabbard is an acceptable one or not. I have been able, with much effort, to dissect others I'm interested in but not this one. Any more information is greatly appreciated.

?

It also appears to have a 14 leaf pommel

?

This hobby starts well when you invest in knowledge, either by reading a lot on forums like this one or by buying the proper reference books.
    I have a good advice regarding Heer daggers