Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

HELP! Due to COVID, I need advice... personal emergency!! HEER Dagger

Article about: Hello, I'm basically a newbie who has lurked here a good while... I never thought I'd have to write you all about this! I'm in a real personal financial emergency due to Covid, etc. I'm not

Default HELP! Due to COVID, I need advice... personal emergency!! HEER Dagger

Hello,

I'm basically a newbie who has lurked here a good while... I never thought I'd have to write you all about this! I'm in a real personal financial emergency due to Covid, etc. I'm not really a dagger collector but many yrs ago I had the option to buy this unmarked Heer dagger from a friend who needed help himself... so I bought it.

All I really know was what he emailed me about this dagger. He said it wasn't "mint" -- no chip or damage to the handle and described the blade finish as good as the day it was made. I could only feel one of the tintiest of nicks along the blade edge with my finger. He noted that the oak leaf motifs around the pommel cap and ferrule as well as the scabbard rings showed remnants of gold-plating. The throat washer is original and intact. He also said of the pommel cap, that it "unscrewed with ease and is a snug fit and (there) was not a single spot of oxidation or blemish on the untouched/uncleaned blade." He told me even though it was unmarked it was likely a Solingen sub-contractor made specimen.