Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

British Pith/Wolseley Helmet, Help needed to ID

Article about: Hey guys, friend alerted me to this helmet for sale. I'm pretty new to the world of Wolseley-type helmets and just wondering if you guys could help me identify a few things, I'd love to make

Default British Pith/Wolseley Helmet, Help needed to ID

Hey guys, friend alerted me to this helmet for sale. I'm pretty new to the world of Wolseley-type helmets and just wondering if you guys could help me identify a few things, I'd love to make my first purchase:

1) is this a repro or original? Looks original to me, but I've never seen what scratches do to an original.
    2) Era/Year of the helmet? The only image of the liner/interior I have is the one provided.
    3) Unit marking? It looks like it might be a commando unit, but I've never seen a full colored sword with a black and red background.
    4) Fair price to buy?

Thank you!

Texlax03
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture British Pith/Wolseley Helmet, Help needed to ID   British Pith/Wolseley Helmet, Help needed to ID  

British Pith/Wolseley Helmet, Help needed to ID  

The pith looks fine, a post 1925 ish to pre 1943 Wolesley pattern with the Vero type removable liner. The flash is either a war office controlled unit or a HQ, but I can't remember which a this time. The question is has the flash always been on it, which I cannot tell from the pics. Value, anywhere between £75 to £150 if the flash is original to it and depending on what it is for, maybe only £50 if the flash has been added.
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

Thanks a bunch Anon!

Do you have any recommended resources where I could research on that type of insignia? Would love to learn more.

Texlax03