Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

HSRAC Mk1

Article about: Morning everyone, here is the last addition to my collection, it is a Steel Helmet RAC Mk1, in the version with the steel edge cover, and shell painted in khaki smooth colour, inside and out

Default HSRAC Mk1

Morning everyone,
    here is the last addition to my collection, it is a Steel Helmet RAC Mk1, in the version with the steel edge cover, and shell painted in khaki smooth colour, inside and outside.
    The liner is intact but the rubber cross is now crystallized and very fragile.
    The liner maker's mark no longer visible but only the size, but I have removed it and in the back it is marked:
    CCL
    The chinstrap is a Mk3 pattern.
    On one side it is flashed, at first it was painted a red square and then covered by a green square, I'm not a flash expert, but surely some of you will be able to help me in identifying.
    It seemed interesting to me to share.

Thanks for looking!
    Roberto

HSRAC Mk1HSRAC Mk1HSRAC Mk1HSRAC Mk1HSRAC Mk1HSRAC Mk1

Very nice addition. I wonder if there is something under the ref as well. Some these were used post war by para units and that might be where the answer to the flashes is to be found
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

Quote by Jerry B View Post
    Very nice addition. I wonder if there is something under the ref as well. Some these were used post war by para units and that might be where the answer to the flashes is to be found
    Thanks Jerry,
    I follow your suggestion and I also look for in the Para units area!

?

An red square = senior armoured or Infantry Brigade, green square = junior armoured or 2nd inf Brig.
    But whether in this instance, I can't be 100% sure.
    Good catch Roberto.

That's a nice find!...

Quote by tinlid View Post
    An red square = senior armoured or Infantry Brigade, green square = junior armoured or 2nd inf Brig.