Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

Junkers JU-88 D-1 loss

Article about: My uncle was killed when his JU-88 D-1 crashed while landing in June 1943. He was in a signal regiment prior to being trained as an Air Gunner. Does anyone have knowledge of what his job wou

?

Default Junkers JU-88 D-1 loss

My uncle was killed when his JU-88 D-1 crashed while landing in June 1943. He was in a signal regiment prior to being trained as an Air Gunner. Does anyone have knowledge of what his job would have been while on a mission on a D-1?

The others on the aircraft were listed as a Pilot, Observer, and Wireless Operator. What did an Observer and Wireless Operator do in a reconnaissance mission?

And if anyone else has information to give on the below excerpt, Please let me know. I am new to investigating this information and really would like to do so for my family.

Thanks
    Junkers JU-88 D-1 lossJunkers JU-88 D-1 loss

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Junkers JU-88 D-1 loss
    P
    Many

Flugzeugführer is the Pilot, the one that flies the plane. Flugzeug is AIRPLANE, Führer is LEADER.. So its actually the Airplane-leader

Beobachter is the the Watchman, the one that actually observes / looks - did the recconaissance work, looking down from the air, and telling the Bordfunker what he was actually seeing. That would be the main -man on a Aufklärungs-einsatz (Reconnaissance-mission)

Bordfunker ( "On-board-communicator") is the one on " Bord" of the plain in charge of communication a.k.a trasmitting information thru radio-transmission. The Beobachter (Observer) tells the Bordfunker what he sees / recognizes on ground ( such as bomb damage, potential targets, troop movements, infrastructure or whatever needs to be studied). And the Bordfunker "funks" (tansmits) it down to a control- center on the ground.