MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck

Article about: This fascinating Sturmovik is tucked away on the wartime Lancaster bomber airfield of RAF Wickenby, Lincolnshire. The wartime paint can still be seen on the wheel hubs. Notice the armoured c

Default Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck

This fascinating Sturmovik is tucked away on the wartime Lancaster bomber airfield of RAF Wickenby, Lincolnshire.

The wartime paint can still be seen on the wheel hubs. Notice the armoured cockpit that gave the aircraft its nickname 'The Flying Tank'

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck   Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck  

Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck   Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck
    P
    Many

more...
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck   Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck  

Soviet Ilyushin -2 Stormovik wreck  
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

last lot of photos

Great find!! You should buy it. Ultimate collectors piece

I said exactly the same thing to a friend of mine who restores WW2 vehicles! He is really tempted

No one seems to know how the aircraft ended up on a wartime airfield in Lincolnshire, that could be an interesting story!

Nick

Interesting piece.
    The best Militaria forum in France is here : http://deutsch-militaria.forumactif.us/

Nick:
    I'm stunned. It is an incredible find.
    I imagine even if it was just that piece of the plane's fuselage, repainted in its original color with a red star, mounted on a pedestal!
    Santi